Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Le Divan Fumoir Bohémien
Le Divan Fumoir Bohémien
Publicité
Archives
Le Divan Fumoir Bohémien
Newsletter
24 février 2007

" Damn Queer ! "

stevensonsargent

"To R. L. Stevenson,  his friend John S. Sargent 1885"

"Sargent was down again and painted a portrait of me walking about in my own dining-room, in my own velveteen jacket, and twisting as I go my own moustache: at one corner a glimpse of my wife, in an Indian dress, and seated in a chair that was once my grandfather's but since some months goes by the name of Henry James's, for it was the novelist loved to sit adds a touch of poesy and comicality. It is, I think, excellent, but is too eccentric to be exhibited. I am at one extreme corner : my wife in this wild dress, and looking like a ghost is at the extreme other end: between us an open door exhibits my palatial entrance hall and part of my respected staircase. All this is touched inlovely, with that witty touch of Sargent's but of course it looks damn queer as a whole."



Vu à l'exposition Peintres de la lumière : Sargent-Sorolla, Musée du Petit Palais, Paris.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
U
What a witty commentary! I had never seen this before...
Publicité